All Fortnite Ranks Explained: How It Works, Leaderboard, and More

In Short
  • In Fortnite Ranked Mode, you can choose between Battle Royale and Zero Build to climb the ladder.
  • The ladder consists of eight rank tiers, each divided into three segments: Elite, Champion, and Unreal.
  • If you become a top contender, you can even see your name on the global leaderboard once you reach the highest rank which is Unreal!

Competitive mode has been part of live-service PVP games for ages. Despite that, Fortnite has a relatively new rank system. New and even old players might find it challenging to understand Fortnite Ranks. If you’re confused, don’t be, as we will explain the entire Fortnite ranking system to you right here.

Fortnite Ranks in Chronological Order

Fortnite has a total of eight different ranks, starting with Bronze (lowest rank) and ending with Unreal (highest rank). Further, these Fortnite ranks are each divided into three segments, except Elite, Champion, and Unreal. The exact Fortnite rank order is:

  1. Bronze – Bronze 1, Bronze 2, Bronze 3
  2. Silver – Silver 1, Silver 2, Silver 3
  3. Gold – Gold 1, Gold 2, Gold 3
  4. Platinum – Platinum 1, Platinum 2, Platinum 3
  5. Diamond – Diamond 1, Diamond 2, Diamond 3
  6. Elite
  7. Champion
  8. Unreal
Fortnite Ranks in Order

Fortnite Rank Mode and Rules

As the initial Fortnite Rank is based on your past performances, you will likely get a lower rank if you are new to the mode. The rank you ended the last season with will carry forward to the new season. However, you will have to play a match first in the new season to determine your initial Rank for that season.

There are two primary rank modes you can play in Fortnite, and both have different progressions. This means you will get different badges for them. The current rank modes in Fortnite are:

  • Battle Royale (solo, duos, squads)
  • Zero Build (duos)
Fortnite Rank Mode System

While trying to play these Rank Mode, remember a few points about how the scoring works in the game:

1. Placement Points

You must earn a good chunk of points to rank up. Winning (Victory Royale) gives the most points, then the Top 10, and so on. Focus on staying alive until the end instead of fighting too much at the start to rack up those points! The exact point amounts change each season, but try to survive longer for maximum points.

2. Elimination Points

While getting kills earns you points, it’s not all about racking them up. You get way more points for surviving longer in the match. Going in guns blazing (hot-dropping) can backfire if you get eliminated early. To climb the ranks, focus on finding a good balance between playing smart and being aggressive. Getting kills later will get you more elimination points.

3. Match Types

Not all matches are created equal when it comes to climbing the ranked ladder in Fortnite. Big FNCS Invitational and World Cup tournaments give the most points, while regular matches give you the least. Cash Cups and Hype Nights fall somewhere in between. To rank up fast, focus on performing well in the high-point matches.

Fortnite Ranked Leaderboard

Fortnite has a ranked leaderboard system to scratch your competitive itch. It’s Global, so you’ll be facing off against players from all over the world. To check the leaderboard, go to the Fortnite Ranked Leaderboard page. The leaderboard showcase starts with the top 100 Unreal players in the world, and you can keep checking more by selecting the next page button.

Fortnite Ranked Leaderboard

You can also sign in on the page using your Epic ID to find your ranking on the leaderboard. Once you reach Unreal rank, unlike the Valorant rank system, you cannot rank down until the season ends. Switch between the Battle Royale and Zero Build to see separate ranks. Select the Chapter and Season depending on which seasonal rank leaderboard you want to check.

That is everything you need to know about the Fortnite Ranked System and the ranks in order. Still have questions regarding the Rank Mode? Ask away in the comments below.

How to Unlock Rank Mode in Fortnite?

Any old Fortnite accounts are eligible for Rank Mode at any time. However, new Epic accounts will have to complete the “outlast 500 opponents’ quest” in normal mode before getting access to Rank Mode.

comment Comments 0
Leave a Reply