Diablo 4 World Tiers: How to Change the Difficulty

Powering up Diablo 4 and picking one of the five classes is followed by a confusing choice. You need to pick a World Tier, which might be confusing for you at first glance in Diablo 4. Chances are that you are a newcomer to the series, and the option catches you off guard. Now, you cannot decide which one to go for. Fortunately, we went through the process of figuring out each of the world tiers and how to unlock them. So read along to learn which world tier to choose for your first journey through the Sanctuary in Diablo 4.

What Are World Tiers in Diablo 4

Simply put, world tiers refer to the difficulty level in Diablo 4. While traditionally, video games offer you difficulty options and enable you to fine-tune how difficult the game is, Diablo 4 does it a bit differently. See, in the game, the enemies scale based on your level. And while that certainly matters, what also matters equally is your gear.

World Tier essentially tunes the enemy difficulty and the loot drop quality. So, if you are playing on a lower world tier, the chances of receiving rare, legendary, or even sacred loot become lower compared to higher world tiers. Higher tiers, on the other hand, have harder-hitting enemies, which gets scarier when you remember that enemies in Diablo 4 come in hoards.

How To Change World Tier in Diablo 4

There are two simple ways to change the world tiers in Diablo 4. You can select the difficulty before jumping back into the game or do it in-game while traveling through a prominent city. Here’s how it works:

1. From the Character Select Screen

The World Tier option on the Diablo 4 Character select screen

The method is self-descriptive. When you first log into Diablo 4, there will be an option to choose the world tier on the right side. Select the difficult level that fancies you, and continue playing the game. Now, when you join the game, you will find that the game has become easier or harder, depending on the world tier.

2. Using the Statue at Kyovashad

The other way to change your world tier in Diablo 4 immediately instead of logging out of the game is by interacting with the World Tier statue. To do that, follow the following steps:

  • Open up your map in the game and fast-travel to Kyovashad. Now, go to this location on the map.
  • Once you are in front of the Statue, click on it to open the menu for changing the world tier.
  • In the World Tier menu, you can choose between Adventurer, Veteran, Nightmare, and Torment.
The Difficulty Selector for Diablo 4

Doing the following will change the world tier unless you want to do it again. There are no restrictions on cooldowns on how many times you want to change your world tier.

How Many World Tiers Are There in Diablo 4

In Diablo 4, there are four world tiers that you can choose from. Each of these difficulties caters to people who prefer playing their game in a specific way.

Tier 1

Tier one is the first world tier that players get unlocked when they launch the game for the first time. This tier has no specific modifiers tied to them and is best for players trying a Diablo game or an ARPG for the first time. Enemies are easier to defeat in this world tier, and high-tier loot drops are negligible in number.

Tier 2

The second world tier makes monsters stronger and is the preferred difficulty for experienced Diablo players or someone who enjoys challenges. Rare and higher gear drops stars become a common occurrence after you hit level 30+, and the following modifiers are in place throughout the gameplay:

  • Players will find it harder to kill enemies.
  • Killing enemies in this world tier will provide a 20% higher experience.
  • Enemies killed will drop 15% more gold.

Tier 3

Once you reach level 50, you get a choice to unlock the third-world tier. This world tier increases the difficulty of the game higher but also starts dropping a unique gear type called Sacred Gears. These have better affixes and receive additional affixes compared to normal rare loot. This tier also drops Nightmare Sigils, which allows you to unlock nightmare dungeons. Tier 3 also introduces Helltide, a randomized event requiring you to grind enemies to collect certain currencies to unlock chests around the Helltide areas. Finally, champion enemies appear frequently around the map.

The following modifiers apply:

  • Enemies are more formidable.
  • Enemies give 100% increased experience.
  • Enemies drop 15% more gold.
  • Enemies overcome 20% more resistance.

Tier 4

The final tier of the game unlocks after you reach level 70. The modifiers ensure that there is high risk and high reward in this world tier. However, in addition to that, you will start receiving ancestral items and unique items. These are the highest tier of loot available in the game. The following modifiers apply to the game:

  • Enemies are much more fearsome.
  • Monsters give a 200% increased experience.
  • Monsters drop 15% more gold.
  • Monsters overcome 40% resistance.

How to Unlock World Tiers 3 and 4 in Diablo 4

Now one thing you will notice when you try to select World Tier 3 and 4 initially is that they are locked. To unlock them, players need to complete two specific dungeons that are hard in difficulty. Called Capstone Dungeons, these unlock World Tier 3 and 4 in Diablo 4 permanently. Hence, in the future, if you create a new class of character, you can freely select these options and continue playing the game.

The game will tell you by making them priority quests after you hit level 50 and level 70. Level 50 Capstone Dungeon is located inside the church at Kyovashad, while Level 70 Capstone Dungeon is unlocked at Dry Stepps.

comment Comments 0
Leave a Reply