Snapchat is one of the most popular messaging apps out there and we have already shared many Snapchat tips and tricks including ways to take screenshot without notifying the sender and disable Snap Maps, to help you use it efficiently. And today we are focusing on a single Snapchat problem that seems to plague most of its users. Snapchat has a privacy feature which allows its users to block anyone. However, there are times when you as a user want to know if you have been blocked by someone or not. So, if you are not receiving a snap from a special someone, here is how you can find out if someone has blocked you Snapchat.
3 Ways to Know if Someone has Blocked You on Snapchat (2022)
1. Check your Snapchat contact list
The first thing you should do to find out if you have been blocked by someone is to check your Snapchat contact list. If you don’t see a particular contact listed on Snapchat, chances are, you might have been blocked. Also, if the contact regularly uploads a story, go ahead and check the Stories tab for any stories from the contact. If there are no stories from the contact, it’s another confirmation of you being blocked.
You can check out your contact list by tapping on the “New Chat” button found on the bottom-right corner of the chat screen.
2. Search for username
The next way is to try and search for the person via their username or full name. You can do so by going to the Camera viewfinder screen and hitting the search button. Try searching for the username and if you can’t find anyone with the username, it’s because you might have been blocked. If you have been blocked very recently, you might even see the username but when you tap the add button, you will get a message saying “Sorry! Couldn’t find username”.
3. Try sending a message
One last way is to try sending a message. If the contact you think has blocked you is already in your chat list, you can try sending them a message. If you have indeed been blocked, your message will not be sent and you will get a message saying “Failed to send – Tap to try again”.
Bonus Method: Ask Your Friend or Create a New Account
There’s one more very basic way and this is if you and the contact that you think might have blocked you have a mutual friend. You can then ask your mutual friend to check if they are available on their Snapchat account and if they are, it’s obvious that you have been blocked.
If you don’t want to ask anyone, you can do that yourself by creating a second account. Since account creation on Snapchat doesn’t require you to enter a real email ID (it is only required when you want to verify your account), you can easily create a secondary account and then search for the user using his/her username. If they show up in the search result of your secondary account but not in the search result of your main account, that means you have been blocked.
Frequently Asked Questions
- Can I text someone who blocked me?
No, you can’t text someone who has blocked you on Snapchat. You will get an error message that says “Failed to send – Tap to try again”.
- How do you find out if someone unfriended you on Snapchat?
You can check the Snap score. If you can’t see it, the person has unfriended you. You can also open the chat and tap on ‘View Friendship’.
- What does it mean if I can’t see someone’s Snap score?
If you can’t see someone’s Snap score, it means that you’re not in their friend list. If you were able to see their score before, they have probably unfriended you.
- When someone unfriends you on Snapchat, can they still see your story?
It depends on your privacy settings. They can see your story if the privacy of your story is set to ‘Everyone’ instead of ‘My friends’.
- What does a grey arrow mean on Snapchat?
The grey arrow indicates that the person has either blocked you or has not accepted your friend request.
- Do you lose streak if you unfriend someone on Snapchat?
No. You will lose streak after you cross the 24 hours streak period. If you add the person within 24 hours and send a Snap, you can keep the streak.
- Will blocking someone on Snapchat delete unopened snaps?
No. Snapchat will not delete unopened snaps and the recipient can still choose to open them.
- How do you stop someone from seeing a snap you sent?
You can’t unsend Snaps you’ve already sent. Snapchat, however, has an option for unsending texts.
- Do Snapchats expire if not opened?
Snapchat deletes all unopened Snaps from its servers after 30 days.
- Can you unsend Snapchat pictures?
No, you can’t unsend Snaps on Snapchat.
- Can you see if a blocked number has tried to text you?
No, you can’t.
- Do blocked messages get delivered when unblocked?
You can’t send messages when you’re blocked on Snapchat.
Find out if you have been blocked on Snapchat
These are the only ways to find if someone has blocked you on Snapchat. So, stop living in the confusion and find out if you have been blocked. If you find any other method which is not on the list but works, share it with us by writing in the comments section below.
If you loved this article, you will also enjoy our article on how to find out if someone blocked you on Instagram. Also, do not forget to check our article on how to recover your Snapchat account if you can’t access your old accounts.