Every Difficulty Option in Prince of Persia The Lost Crown

In Short
  • Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown offers five different difficulty options, including Rookie, Warrior, Hero, Immortal, and Custom.
  • Each level modifies the game difficulty to suit the user's gaming needs, be it the easiest Rookie mode or the hardest Immortal mode.
  • The custom difficulty allows gamers to customize the experience by setting the enemy damage multiplier, parry difficulty, and more.

Are you planning to jump into the world of Mount Qaf in Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown? Then, it would be best to prepare yourself for the dangers lurking in every corner of this new game. Although our protagonist Sargon is strong, even he might have trouble facing various difficulties. That is why you have the option to choose the difficulty in Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown (review) and adjust it to your play style. In this guide, we have explained each difficulty and how they are different from one another in Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown.

Like most games of current times and yesteryears, the latest action-adventure game by Ubisoft has various difficulties to match every play style. Each difficulty changes enemy behavior and how much the environment will hurt you. Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown has five difficulties to choose from, and they are named Rookie, Warrior, Hero, Immortal, and Custom.

Each of the difficulty levels serves a fixed purpose. While one difficulty option might help you enjoy the story and get acquainted with Metroidvanias, if it’s your first game in this genre, the others will give you the deserved challenge. Each difficulty shows you what gets modified, so you can make an informed decision and choose the option that suits you best.

Every Difficulty in Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown (Explained)

TheLostCrown_difficulty levels

When you boot the game for the first time, you can take your pick from the following four difficulty options – Rookie, Warrior, Hero, and Immortal. At any point in the middle, you can change them to fit your playstyle.


This is the easiest difficulty level in Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown. Rookie is the perfect choice for people who want to experience the story and prefer minimum difficulty. In this difficulty, you have a long dodge window. You never lose Athra upon the damage and easily parry your opponents.

Furthermore, you can build your Athra faster in rookie difficulty. When you pick this difficulty level, enemies and the environment will do the following amount of damage:

  • Enemy damage: 0.5
  • Environmental damage: 0.5
  • Enemy health: 0.5


Warrior is the standard difficulty of the game. It gives a balanced challenge to everyone who prefers experiencing the hardships the game throws at them. However, it is forgiving at multiple points. For example, you still do not deplete Athra in the warrior difficulty. However, you will lose Athra when taking damage in warrior difficulty, and dodging and parrying are slightly more challenging. As for enemy and environmental damage, here are the numbers:

  • Enemy damage: 1.0
  • Environmental damage: 1.0
  • Enemy health: 1.0


As the name suggests, the hero difficulty level is for gamers who don’t shy away from taking risks and enjoy a challenge. Enemies will now deal greater damage, and the game removes the leniency available in previous difficulties.

Enemies are harder to counter, the dodge window is even smaller, and you lose considerably larger Athra upon every hit. Moreover, the enemy damage multiplier also increases to match the difficulty:

  • Enemy damage: 1.5
  • Environmental damage: 1.5
  • Enemy health: 1.0


The highest difficulty level in Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown is called Immortal. This is the perfect level for people who prefer doing challenge runs for that kick.

Everything in this difficulty is fine-tuned to ensure you have the toughest time in-game. You will gain Athra slower but lose it faster upon hit. You’ll find it super difficult to counter enemies, and the damage multipliers are maxed to these numbers:

  • Enemy damage: 2.0
  • Environmental damage: 2.0
  • Enemy health: 1.5

Custom Difficulty

Now, if the four default difficulty levels aren’t enough to satiate your hunger for combat, one of the impressive features of this game is a custom difficulty feature. We’ve heavily praised it in our review, and it has multitudes of accessibility features. If neither of the above-mentioned difficulties fits your gaming needs, you can create your own with ease.

The custom difficulty feature in Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown

Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown allows you to customize the damage multipliers, change the parry difficulty, and control how much Athra you gain or lose. Let’s say you want a bigger challenge and want to use your Athra energy frequently. You can set a custom difficulty to do. Similarly, if you find enemies annoying but want to experience environmental puzzles, you can do that by decreasing the enemy damage multiplier. The modular approach to difficulty is a welcome feature for everyone, giving more power to the players.

These are the various difficulty options the game provides you in Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown. We hope with this knowledge, you pick your preferred difficulty and enjoy the first new entry in the long-running series. Did you try the demo or plan to buy the game on launch? Do let us know in the comments below.

Can you change your difficulty at any point in-game?

Yes. Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown allows you to change your in-game difficulty whenever you want without any hassle. You do that by going to settings -> difficulty options. However, you have to restart your progress from the last save point for the new difficulty to take effect.

comment Comments 0
Leave a Reply