How to Delete Twitch Account (Desktop and Mobile)

How to Delete Your Twitch Account

Twitch is a fairly sophisticated video streaming service to watch gaming and real-life broadcasts. However, Twitch has a content moderation problem. With the increasing number of hate raids on Twitch, there’s a solid chance that you might not be enjoying your time spent on the platform. If that sounds like something you are going through, here’s how you can delete your Twitch account for good.

Step-by-Step Guide to Delete Twitch Account (2021)

Getting rid of your Twitch account is straightforward on both desktop and mobile. We have added steps for disabling your Twitch account as well, so make sure you check the respective section based on what you are looking for.

How to Delete Twitch Account on Desktop (Windows, Mac, & Linux)

1. Sign in to your Twitch account and visit this link to access Twitch’s Delete Account page. You won’t find it in Settings (trust me, I tried) and will have to use the direct link instead. You can choose to enter the reason why you are leaving the platform or directly click ‘Delete Account’ to delete your Twitch account.

2. You will see a confirmation screen indicating that your account has been deleted. And that’s it. You no longer have a Twitch account. If you change your mind, you can reactivate your account within 90 days. To reactivate, all you have to do is log in to your account with your Twitch credentials.

How to Disable Twitch Account on Desktop (Windows, Mac, & Linux)

If you want to take some time off Twitch and prefer disabling your account instead, you can do that too. Here’s how that works:

1. Click on your profile picture at the top-right corner and choose ‘Settings’ from the list of options.

2. Scroll down until you find the ‘Disabling Your Twitch Account’ section and click on the ‘Disable Account’ hyperlink. You can alternatively use this direct link to access the page to disable your Twitch account.

3. Add a reason if you prefer or directly click on ‘Disable Account’ to disable your Twitch account temporarily.

4. Just like account deletion, you’ll see the confirmation page indicating that you have disabled your Twitch account. If you want the account back, you can reactivate your account within six months. After six months, your username will be available for others to claim, according to Twitch’s rename and recycling policies.

Disable or Delete Twitch Account on Mobile (Android or iOS)

Twitch’s mobile app on Android and iOS doesn’t let you deactivate or delete your account. Hence, we will use Twitch’s web version from a mobile browser to do that. You can follow the instructions below to get rid of your Twitch account from your Android phone or iPhone.

1. Twitch takes you to the mobile version of the site when you open it in a browser on your phone. As a workaround, open your browser of choice and enable desktop mode. If you are using Chrome, tap the vertical three-dots menu at the top right and choose ‘Desktop site’.

2. Now, you will see the web version of Twitch. Press the ‘Log In’ button to sign in to your Twitch account.

3. After signing in, use this link if you would like to disable your account. Similarly, you can use this link to delete your Twitch account. Add the reason if you want, and tap on ‘Disable Account’ or ‘Delete Account’, respectively.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. Can I restore my Twitch account after permanently deleting it?

You can restore your Twitch account within 90 days of your account deletion request. If you choose to deactivate your account, you can restore it within 6 months.

Q. What happens to my username after deleting Twitch account?

Other users can claim your username after six months of deleting your account.

Q. How to reactivate your Twitch account?

To reactivate your account, sign in with your Twitch credentials. Make sure you sign in before the account gets permanently deleted if you want your account back.

Q. What’s the difference between disabling and deleting Twitch account?

Deleting a Twitch account permanently deactivates the account, while disabling is temporary. However, note that you can’t access a deleted account after 90 days and a disabled account after six months. You can recover a deleted Twitch account within 90 days simply by logging in to your account.

Delete Your Twitch Account in a Few Easy Steps

So that’s how you can delete your Twitch account with ease. If you are planning to move to other game streaming platforms like Twitch, feel free to take a look at our list of the best Twitch alternatives. And if you have any queries related to deleting your Twitch account, let us know in the comments below, and we will try to help you out.

Leave a Reply