If you do not accept the privacy update, then your WhatsApp account will not be deleted – at least not right away. The company, as announced yesterday, will be pushing out new in-app banners to better explain the policy changes. It says that you have enough time to review the “changes at your own pace and convenience.” They will not affect your personal chats in any way. And the use of business and payments features, whose data will be shared with Facebook to better target ads, are optional. We’ve explained the policy update in our YouTube video right here:
The story does not end there. Coming back to whether your WhatsApp account will be deleted if you do not accept the new policies or not? The answer is yes — but after 120 days. The Facebook-owned messaging giant will apply the inactive users policy to those who do not accept the changes.