What is Snapchat My Eyes Only and How to Use It

In Short
  • My Eyes Only is a password-protected folder in Snapchat for storing Snaps, Stories, and Memories.
  • To add content, long press on the content in Memories and select the Hide option.
  • If you forget the password for the My Eyes Only folder, your content won't be recoverable.

Snapchat is a platform where you share the moments of your life, no matter how big or small with your buddies on the app. But some things you like to keep to yourself. For those memories, there is the “My Eyes Only” feature. In this read, we’ll show you how to set up the My Eyes Only feature, and how to your Snaps and Memories to it.

What is “My Eyes Only” on Snapchat?

My Eyes Only mode is a hidden folder on Snapchat that is password protected. You can add your previously shared Snaps, Stories, and saved Memories to this folder so only you can revisit them later. Since this is a password-protected folder, you can only access it through the passcode you’ve set up adding an extra layer of security.

It is part of the Memories feature in Snapchat that you can access by swiping up from the camera view page on the app.

How to Set Up “My Eyes Only” on Snapchat

The My Eyes Only folder is available through the camera page on Snapchat. Here is how you can set it up.

  1. Open Snapchat and swipe up from the bottom of the viewfinder screen.
  2. This will take you to the Memories page. Here, scroll through the horizontal list of menus.
  3. Tap on My Eyes only option then tap on Set Up.
  4. Enter a 4-digit passcode, then enter it again for confirmation.
  5. Lastly, tap on Continue to complete the setup.
Set Up Snapchat My Eyes Only

Note:

We highly recommend that you note down your My Eyes Only passcode somewhere safe. If you forget it then your content saved in the folder cannot be recovered.

How to Add Snaps to My Eyes Only

Now that you have set up the My Eyes Only folder, let’s move forward with the next step which is to add your Snaps, videos, photos, and other content. Here is how you can do it.

  1. Swipe up from the camera screen to enter the Memories page.
  2. Here, long press the content you wish to hide.
  3. Now tap on the Hide option from the bottom bar.
  4. In the confirmation prompt, select Move.
Add Snap to My Eyes Only
  1. Alternatively, you can open a Snap, tap the 3-dots icon, and select Hide Snap (My Eyes Only).
Alternative Add Snaps My Eyes Only

Once moved, the Snap will be removed and can be viewed from My Eyes Only. Now that you have added the content, you can access it anytime from said folder using your passcode.

How to Reset My Eyes Only Password

Content saved in My Eyes Only is protected by an extra layer of security. So if you forget the passcode for it, you will have no way to recover it. Even choosing the forgot passcode option won’t help you recover it. If you still wish to reset your My Eyes Only password then follow these steps.

  1. Go to the My Eyes Only section on Snapchat.
  2. Tap on Options at the bottom right.
  3. Select Forgot Passcode.
  4. Enter your Snapchat account password and tap on Continue on the next page.
Forgot Passcode

Now you can set a new passcode and continue using the feature.

This is how you can use the My Eyes Only folder on Snapchat. While this feature itself is quite useful, I wish that there was a way to retrieve content as we often forget passwords and I wouldn’t want others to lose out on their treasured memories because of it. Besides that, if you have any questions related to this article then reach out to us in the comments below.

#Tags
comment Comments 0
Leave a Reply