All Despicable Me and Minions Movies in Order

Gru and his Minions are the most loved creation of Illumination Studios resulting in a plethora of content stemming out of the characters. The first Despicable Me movie became a massive success which followed several sequels, prequels, shows, and even games. The original trilogy of Despicable Me brings us the tale of Felonious Gru who started out as someone who wanted to be the greatest villain of all time and eventually became a hero and father to his three adopted daughters Margo, Edith, and Agnes. Here, find out the correct order to watch Despicable Me and Minions movies.

Despicable Me and Minions Movies in Chronological Order

1. Minions

Image Courtesy: IMDb

Minions came out in 2015 but in chronological order, is the first movie in the series. This movie is set in 1968 but takes us all the way back to 3.8 Billion BC when the minions emerged with the formation of the Earth itself. we get to see a brief history of minions where they have worked alongside dinosaurs, vampires, and even Egyptian Pharos. Minions takes us to 1968 where Bob, Kevin, and Stuart are looking for a supervillain to serve when they meet Scarlet Overkill. In the end of this movie, the Minions meet a young Gru whose story is then continued in the next movie.

2. Minions: Rise of The Gru

Minions: Rise of The Gru
Image Courtesy: IMDb

The cliffhanger of Gru meeting the Minions in the Minions movie is carried on in Minions: Rise of the Gru. The story takes place in 1976 and brings us a young Gru who has found his calling to be a Supervillain and wants to join the Felonious Five. Initially, Gru did not want to be accompanied by the Minions but eventually developed a bond with them and as seen in the later movies, keeps the Minions as his loyal henchmen for all of time.

3. Despicable Me

Despicable Me
Image Courtesy: IMDb

Now, we move to Despicable Me, the first movie to come out of the franchise. This is the movie where Gru comes up with his world-famous plan to steal the moon. Despicable Me also brings in Margo, Agnes, and Enid, the three sisters Gru adopts who turn out to be some of the most loved characters in the history of animation movies. This movie was a massive success making over more than $540 million worldwide which led to the creation of all these sequels and prequels we are talking about.

4. Despicable Me 2

Despicable Me 2
Image Courtesy: IMDb

Despicable Me 2 sees Gru turning from a villain to somewhat of an anti-villain as he joins the Anti-Villain League. This was the first movie to introduce Lucy. Gru was forced to pair with her as a partner but even though they did not seem to be compatible initially, they soon fall in love with each other and by the end of the movie, got married to each other.

5. Despicable Me 3

Despicable Me 3
Image Courtesy: IMDb

Despicable Me follows the events of Despicable Me 2 and picks up four years later. In this movie, Gru finds out that he has a twin brother named Dru and will have to team up with him to fight a supervillain named Balthazar Bratt. The chemistry between Gru and Dru is hilarious and by the end of the movie, we see some of the Minions choosing to go with Dru and join him in his adventures.

6. Despicable Me 4

Despicable Me 4
Image Courtesy: IMDb

Now, the Despicable Me is coming up with Despicable Me 4 which will see Gru trying to lead a normal life with his family. There is a new addition to the family as well, Gru. Jr. He loves his mum Lucy but does not seem to like his dad, Gru very much. In this movie, we will get to see Gru trying to gain the affection of his son.

However, while Gru is trying to lead a normal life, a new villain named Maxime Le Mal shows up who has escaped from prison and is hellbent on exacting revenge on Gru for something he had done to Maxime and now, it’s up to Gru to protect his family and defeat this new villain.

Despicable Me and Minion Movies in Release Date Order

Minions and Minions: Rise of the Gru were prequel movies hence if you are planning to watch Despicable Me movies in release date order, here’s the correct order for it:

  1. Despicable Me (2010)
  2. Despicable Me 2 (2013)
  3. Minions (2015)
  4. Despicable Me 3 (2017)
  5. Minions: Rise of the Gru (2022)
  6. Despicable Me 4 (2024)
comment Comments 0
Leave a Reply