Social networking giant Facebook has apparently started asking some users to upload their photos in order to verify their identity and prove that they’re not bots. The photo that you’re uploading to Facebook clearly needs to show your face to pass the company’s verification process. If you fail to do so, it’s highly likely that you’ll be locked out of your account until it’s verified.

Well, if you’re worried about Facebook storing your photos on their servers, a Twitter user was quick to reveal the new security check in a tweet, where the prompt says “Please upload a photo of yourself that clearly shows your face. We’ll check it and then permanently delete it from our servers.”

The photo that you’re uploading to Facebook clearly needs to show your face to pass the company’s verification process.

According to a Facebook spokesperson, the company’s new captcha system “helps us catch suspicious activity at various points of interaction on the site, including creating an account, sending Friend requests, setting up ads payments, and creating or editing ads.”

The security check is an automated process, from detecting suspicious activity on your account to checking the photo. To make sure that it’s an authentic account, Facebook checks the uniqueness of the picture that’s uploaded. This might pretty much be a move by the company to curb misleading content, and it comes shortly after the company realized the fact that nearly 126 million users in the United States might have seen content published on the platform by Russia-backed accounts.

This is not really the first time that the social networking giant is asking for users’ photos. Earlier this month, in a move to prevent revenge porn on the internet, the company even asked users to upload nude pictures, where a digital fingerprint would be created to compare future posts. Do you think Facebook’s new security check is the right way to verify a user’s identity? Do let us know, in the comments section down below.

Comments

1 COMMENT

  1. What if you failed the photo captcha test? will they give you another chance of sending another photo or will the permanently disable your account?

LEAVE A REPLY